Harvard, Northeastern, Boston University, and Boston College have been competing in the Beanpot Tournament since 1952. Amazingly, Harvard and NU had never met in a final in the previous 65 Beanpot tournaments coming into this years event.

And thanks to a 3-0 NU win over BC in the early game, and a thrilling 3-2 overtime win for BU over last year’s champion Harvard, it’s not happening again. The streak continues for a 66th straight year.

It’ll be a Boston University and Northeastern Beanpot final.

Northeastern took care of their side of the deal on the back of a flukey goal by Dylan Sikura, an opportunistic rebound putback by Nolan Stevens, and a late insurance marker by Adam Gaudette.

Harvard came so close to snapping the NU/Crimson final matchup drought. Before the double OT heroics of BU’s Ty Amonte, Ryan Donato had set up a beaut by Ty Pelton-Byce. And Harvard’s Jack Badini buried a sick rebound on an out of mid-air swat while crashing the net.

It still just wasn’t enough.

Both Jake Oettinger (BU) and Merrick Madsen (Harvard) played fantastic between the pipes in the nightcap as evidenced here:


And here:

Yet at the end of the night, after 4+ periods, it was a softie just 1:55 into double overtime that did in Madsen and Harvard:

Next Monday night Northeastern looks to snap their 30 year Beanpot championship drought. And this is absolutely their best chance to do it since that 1988 squad last won it for the Huskies.

Follow us on Twitter @BostonPucks and let’s talk hockey.